"More of the same but with horns and more obvious melodies" Dr Das tells NME

Asian Dub Foundation have spoken exclusively to NME about their forthcoming second album ‘Community Music’. Bassist Dr Das confirmed the album would be released in spring through London Records and said “There’s bits of tweaking still to do. But essentially the album’s done.”

Dr Das said Asian Dub Foundation had worked with a variety of different musicians and vocalists they knew, including Primal Scream‘s horn section. When asked what else fans could expect, Dr Das explained “It’s more of the same but with more strings and more horns and stuff like that. There’s more obvious melodies but the nose is still there and the drum ‘n’ bass is still there. All of those sounds have always been implied by us but we’ve not had the time or the resources to exploit them.”

The full tracklisting of the album will be:


‘Real Great Britain”Memory War”Scaling New Heights”Riddim I Like”New Way, New Life”Collective Mode”Colourlines”Judgement”Truth Hides”Assata’ There will also be a track entitled ‘Officer XX’ about the aftermath of the Stephen Lawrence case.

ADF will preview their new album on a forthcoming UK tour which will call at:

Dublin Olympia at the Groove Weekender (October 1) Belfast Limelight (2) Aberdeen University (3) Edinburgh University (5) Glasgow Arches (6) Bristol Anson Rooms (9) Uxbirdge Brunel University (12) London Kentish Town Forum (14)

Get tickets for Asian Dub Foundation‘s UK shows only now through the nme.com Virgin Cola Ticketshop – click here

Or call the 24-Hour NME Virgin Cola Ticketline on 0870 1 663 663. Calls are charged at national standard rate.