Asylums announce details of new album ‘Signs of Life’

The band have also shared a new single called 'Scatterbrain'

Asylums have announced details of a new album called ‘Signs Of Life’ – get all the details on the record below.

The follow-up to the Southend band’s Steve Albini-produced LP ‘Genetic Cabaret’ from 2020, will come out on October 14.

Back in April, the album was previewed by new single ‘Crypto Klepto’, the four-piece’s first new music in two years.


The album was recorded at the legendary Rockfield Studios in Wales and produced by Dave Eringa (Manic Street PreachersIdlewildThe Proclaimers). “When Luke [Branch, vocalist and guitarist] said he wanted to do an album at Rockfield in 8 days – all played live and to integrate big strings into their sound – it sounded so ridiculous I thought ‘let’s do this!'” Eringa said.

“Only a band that can really play can do this kind of recording. No clicks, no tricks – all live off the floor, a few judicious overdubs, some amazing string arrangements from musical polymath Henry and a bizarre interruption from Countryfile – it was a pretty intense week and I couldn’t be prouder of them for what they achieved! They’ve really taken themselves to the next level!”

The band have shared the latest single from the record in the form of ‘Scatterbrain’ – watch the video for the new track above. Pre-order ‘Signs Of Life’ here.

The tracklist for ‘Signs Of Life’ is as follows: 

‘Understand The Psychology’
‘Instant Coffee’
‘Signs Of Life’
‘Crypto Klepto’
‘Erase The Edges’
‘If You Can’t Join Them Beat Them’
‘Say Goodbye Before You Die’
‘Nursery Rhymes Against Humanity’
‘Everybody Has A Space To Fill’
‘Spat Out The Other Side’
‘The Mirror’

Speaking to the Southend Echo, Branch said: “So many iconic pieces of music have been made in the room at Rockfield Studios which we recorded in, Yellow by Coldplay, Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen and many more.


“We brought in a string quartet for a day to play and it was one of the most creative and rewarding musical experiences we have shared.”

“I can honestly say this is one of the most unhinged songs I’ve ever produced and up above 215bpm one of the fastest too,” Eringa said of recent single ‘Crypto Klepto’. “At that speed, it’s genuinely difficult to get it this heavy but the booming tom overdubs and the phalanx of fuzz guitars that annex the second verse gets us there I think and the ‘Lalala’ backing vocals notch the crazy up a level too!! Wild punk rock insanity!!!! Love it!”

‘Genetic Cabaret’ was released on July 17, 2020, via the band’s own DIY label Cool Thing Records; it featured the singles ‘Catalogue Kids’‘A Perfect Life In A Perfect World’ and ‘The Distance Between Left & Right’.