Thom Yorke’s Atoms For Peace confirm details of debut album

'AMOK' will be released early next year

Atoms For Peace – the band comprising Thom Yorke, drummer Joey Waronker, Radiohead co-producer Nigel Godrich, Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea and percussionist Mauro Refosco – have confirmed details of their debut album, reports Rolling Stone.

The nine-track ‘Amok’ will be released in early 2013 via XL Recordings, and is set to include the track ‘Default’, which is available to hear now.

Speaking to Rolling Stone, Yorke has revealed the origins of the album, which was recorded over three days in Los Angeles. “When we first hung out, we were at Flea’s house. We got wasted, played pool and listened to Fela Kuti all night. It was that idea of trance-ing out. But there are still songs here.”

Yorke also spoke about his desire to make a “mechanistic” sounding album, but one in which his vocals had a firm place. “One of the things we were most excited about was ending up with a record where you weren’t quite sure where the human starts and the machine ends.”

The singer also confirmed he hopes to tour with Atoms For Peace once the album has been released.

The tracklisting for ‘Amok’ is:

‘Before Your Very Eyes…’
‘Stuck Together Pieces’
‘Judge, Jury and Executioner’
‘Reverse Running’