Thom Yorke’s Atoms For Peace to release debut album in January 2013?

Report claims 'AMOK' will be out early next year

Reports have claimed that Thom Yorke’s supergroup Atoms For Peace will release their debut album in January next year.

Radiohead fan site suggests that the band’s first effort will be titled ‘AMOK’ and will be available on CD, vinyl and digital download on January 28 through XL Records, although the rumour is yet to be confirmed officially by either the band or the record label.

According to the report, the album’s tracklisting is as follows:

1. ‘Before Your Very Eyes…’
2. ‘Default’
3. ‘Ingenue’
4. ‘Dropped’
5. ‘Unless’
6. ‘Stuck Together Pieces’
7. ‘Judge, Jury And Executioner’
8. ‘Reverse Running’
9. ‘Amok’

Earlier this week, Atoms For Peace debuted the track ‘Default’ on Mary Anne Hobbs’ XFM radio show, with the song since being leaked onto YouTube – scroll down to the bottom of the page and click to listen.

The band features Yorke alongside longtime Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich and Red Hot Chili Pepper’s Flea as well as drummer Joey Waronker and percussionist Mauro Refosco. Speaking about the band, he said: “You may have heard that I have a new project called Atoms For Peace. The name comes from some shows of The Eraser that happened a couple of years ago with Mauro, Joey, Nigel and Flea.”

He added: “We got a big buzz from them and discovered loads of energy from transforming the music from electronic to live, and so afterwards, we carried on for a few days in the studio and decided to make it a loose, on-going thing. Immersed in the area between the two…electronic and live.”