Thom Yorke’s Atoms for Peace unveil new tracks in DJ set

Radiohead man also sampled Azealia Banks' '212' and Talking Heads' 'Once in a Lifetime' in the set

Radiohead’s Thom Yorke unveiled new tracks from his Atoms For Peace project during a DJ set in Long Island, US, last night at the PS1 Warm Up summer concert series.

Taking to the stage with producer Nigel Godrich, the duo performed new material, which you can watch videos for below, as well as sampling tracks including Azealia Banks’ ‘212’ and Talking Heads’ ‘Once In A Lifetime’, according Consequence of Sound.

Last week, Atoms for Peace unveiled the first single to be taken from their forthcoming debut album, which is due in 2013. You can listen to the track, titled ‘Default’ , below:

Thom Yorke features in the group alongside longtime Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich and Red Hot Chili Pepper’s Flea as well as drummer Joey Waronker and percussionist Mauro Refosco.

Yorke said in a statement: “You may have heard that I have a new project called Atoms For Peace. The name comes from some shows of The Eraser that happened a couple of years ago with Mauro, Joey, Nigel and Flea.”

He added: “We got a big buzz from them and discovered loads of energy from transforming the music from electronic to live, and so afterwards, we carried on for a few days in the studio and decided to make it a loose, on-going thing. Immersed in the area between the two… electronic and live.”