Avril Lavigne shares empowering break-up banger ‘Tell Me It’s Over’, announces new album ‘Head Above Water’

She hopes the album will help fans "believe in themselves"

Avril Lavigne has announced her new album ‘Head Above Water’, sharing new single ‘Tell Me It’s Over’ to celebrate the news.

Lavigne’s last album was her self-titled release in 2013. In 2015, she confirmed she had been diagnosed with Lyme disease, which prompted a break from music.

Now, the ‘Sk8r Boi’ singer is back with her sixth full-length release. “I feel like I’ve really opened up on this record more than I ever have before,” she said in a press release. “Each song tells a story that will hopefully inspire others to believe in themselves and stand up for what they know is right and what they truly deserve!”

You can see the artwork and track listing for ‘Head Above Water’ below. It’ll be released on February 15th, 2019.


  1. Head Above Water
  2. Birdie
  3. I Fell In Love With The Devil
  4. Tell Me It’s Over
  5. Dumb Blonde
  6. It Was In Me
  7. Souvenir
  8. Crush
  9. Goddess
  10. Bigger Wow
  11. Love Me Insane
  12. Warrior

Speaking of new track ‘Tell Me It’s Over’, Lavigne described it as an “anthem about being strong, finally putting your foot down and closing the door on a relationship that you know is wrong after time and time again of falling for their games.”

“If someone doesn’t treat you the way you deserve to be treated, don’t put up with it. It’s understandably so hard because in the past every time you saw them, they sucked you in and you fell right back into their web, but not anymore starting now!”

The video for the song features Lavigne reminiscing about a relationship before it falls apart and depicts the couple arguing and breaking up.

“The vocals and the lyrics are very vulnerable which is reflective of the feelings I had in relationships like these. I wanted to write something classic and have been inspired by some of the timeless queens I listen to everyday at home, Billie Holiday, Ella Fitzgerald, Aretha Franklin and Etta James. They represent women who stand up for women and aren’t going to put up with a man’s bullshit anymore!”

Watch the video for ‘Tell Me It’s Over’ below.

Earlier this year, Lavigne issued an emotional message to fans ahead of comeback single ‘Head Above Water’.

Speaking out on ‘the worst years of her life,’ the singer described how she went through both physical and emotional battles.