The duo are working on 30 songs as the follow-up to 'Rooty' takes shape...

BASEMENT JAXX have started work on their new album, which is due for release in the Spring.

Felix Buxton and Simon Ratcliffe have been working on new material, and have approximately 30 new songs in contention for the follow-up to ‘Rooty’.

Buxton told Rolling Stone what they’ve been up to. “(We’ve been in the studio) just a couple of months,” he said. “We’ve been relaxing, spending time at home kind of racing around, not really DJing, just kind of becoming human beings again to hopefully kind of realise our new message.”

“We’re speaking to a couple of people at the moment,” Buxton said of guest vocalists on the album (‘Rooty’ featured Kele Le Roc). “We’ve got loads of people coming into the studio — singers and various people, mostly underground people. We’re not against using a name, but we’ll see.”