Banned Be Your Own Pet tracks to get US release

'Violent' songs to be independently released

Three songs that were cut from Be Your Own Pet’s new album are to be independently released by XL in June.

‘Blow Yr Mind’, ‘Black Hole’ and ‘Becky’ were originally included on ‘Get Awkward’ but the band’s record label Universal deemed the lyrical content too violent and removed the tracks from the US version of the album.

Now XL Recordings have endeavored to release the tracks on a mini-EP entitled ‘Get Damaged’ and will release it digitally on June 3, with the physical release following on June 24.


The Nashville upstarts are currently on the Nylon tour with She Wants Revenge, wrapping up July 9 in Los Angeles. The next day they join the Warped tour in Atlanta, GA.

After a show at McCarren Pool in Brooklyn, NY on August 7 the band will play a show in Virginia and then head for the UK later in the month for slots at the Reading and Leeds Festivals.

–By our New York staff.

Find out more about NME.