Bad Brains to include tribute to Beastie Boys’ Adam Yauch on new album

Hardcore punks spill details on new LP 'Into The Future'

Hardcore punk band Bad Brains have revealed that their new album will include a tribute to late Beastie Boys‘ member Adam Yauch.

The Washington DC outfit will release the new LP – which is titled ‘Into The Future’ and is their first studio outing in five years – on November 20 and, according to Consequence Of Sound, the record will carry a remix of their track ‘Peace Be Unto Thee’ as a tribute to Yauch.

Yauch, who passes away earlier this year, produced the band’s 2007 effort ‘Build A Nation’ and once described their self-titled 1982 debut record as “the best punk/hardcore album of all time”.


Since releasing their debut album in 1982, Bad Brains have released eight full-length studio records, although they broke up and underwent several line-up changes over the subsequent years.

The band’s classic line-up of H.R., Darryl Jenifer, Dr. Know and Earl Hudson have teamed up for the new LP, which has been described by Jenifer as a record which “shines with a true sense of freedom and musical experimentation, with blends of soulful backgrounds meshed with blistering hardcore and metal riffs, with classic dub”. You can hear the album’s title track by scrolling below and clicking.

Adam ‘MCA’ Yauch died on May 4 after a prolonged battle with cancerm aged 47. Earlier this year, producer Mario C, who worked on four of the Beastie Boys albums from the 1990s, said there is material left in the band’s vault that could be released in future following Yauch’s death.

Beastie Boy Mike D, meanwhile, had previously said that the trio recorded with Yauch shortly before he died, but Caldato said the band were in no hurry to release anything. “We’ll take it slowly,” Caldato said. “No-one’s thinking of doing anything right away. It’s too soon.”