Beastie Boys announce 30th anniversary vinyl reissue of ‘License To Ill’

It was the first hip-hop album to ever top the Billboard 200 chart in the US

The Beastie Boys are reissuing the vinyl of their debut album, ‘License To Ill’, to mark its thirtieth anniversary.

The record was a phenomenal success for the pioneering hip-hop trio, achieving the honour of being the first hip-hop album to top the Billboard chart in the US in March 1987, five months after its original release. ‘License To Ill’ went on to sell over ten million records in the US.

The album will turn 30 on November 15, and, to celebrate, a special anniversary LP is being released. Cut from original production masters and presented on 180-gram heavyweight vinyl, the record is available to pre-order now on the Beastie Boys’ website. The arrival date for the reissue is set to be October 14.


The classic album was co-produced by legendary producer Rick Rubin and the trio themselves, and featured such songs as ‘(You Gotta) Fight for Your Right (To Party!)’, ‘No Sleep till Brooklyn’ and ‘Brass Monkey’.

The full tracklist for the reissue can be found below.

01. ‘Rhymin & Stealin’’
02. ‘The New Style’
03. ‘She’s Crafty’
04. ‘Posse in Effect’
05. ‘Slow Ride’
06. ‘Girls’
07. ‘(You Gotta) Fight for Your Right (To Party)’
08. ‘No Sleep till Brooklyn’
09. ‘Paul Revere’
10. ‘Hold It Now, Hit It’
11. ‘Brass Monkey’
12. ‘Slow and Low’
13. ‘Time to Get Ill’