Beck to release new album ‘Morning Phase’ in February

Singer-songwriter will release follow up to 2008's 'Modern Guilt' next year

Beck has announced plans to release his new album ‘Morning Phase’ in February 2014.

The US singer-songwriter has signed a new deal with Capitol Records and will release his 12th album with the label early next year. ‘Morning Phase’ is Beck’s first album in six years, coming after ‘Modern Guilt’ in 2008. The album is described as being a “companion piece” to the largely acoustic ‘Sea Change’, released in 2002, and will include a number of guest stars.

Confirmed names set to appear on ‘Morning Phase’ include Justin Meldal-Johnsen, Joey Waronker, Smokey Hormel, Roger Joseph Manning Jr, and Jason Falkner. A press release comparing the album to ‘Sea Change’ discusses how it, “harkens back to the stunning harmonies, songcraft and staggering emotional impact of that record, while surging forward with infectious optimism”.

In September, Beck released new song ‘Gimme’, the latest in a line of one-off single releases. It followed the release of ‘Defriended’ in June while July also saw the release of two versions of new track ‘I Won’t Be Long’ – one of which featured a spoken-word monologue from Sonic Youth star Kim Gordon.

Speaking to NME earlier this year, Beck explained that he had no plans to record an album and would instead be concentrating on this series of separate singles. “For 10 years I’ve been talking about putting out a series of 12-inch singles, one at a time. But I was holding them back ‘cos I wasn’t sure what I was doing with them. And I just wanted people to hear them.”

However, it is rumoured that Beck will release two albums in 2014 with a second record similar to ‘Modern Guilt’ following ‘Morning Phase’.