The star talks about the long-awaited 'Guero' - which features a guest spot from a certain Jack White...

BECK has revealed full details of his long-awaited new LP ‘GUERO’.

The follow-up to 2002’s ‘Sea Change’ will be released on March 21 in the UK, and will feature 13 tracks. The title means ‘white boy’ in Spanish.

The LP has been produced by former collaborators The Dust Brothers and marks a return to the ‘classic’, funk-based Beck sound after the acoustic leanings of its predecessor. [/a] mainman Jack White guest stars on the record, playing bass on ‘Go It Alone’.

“It’s pretty aggressive,” Beck told Rolling Stone. “I’ve been working on it for a while, but I ended up doing ‘Sea Change’ first. I’ve been wanting to do a record with loud guitars for a long time.”

Despite a number of tracks turning up online recently, the album’s release date has not been brought forward.

The full tracklisting is:


‘Que Onda Guero’



‘Black Tambourine’

‘Earthquake Weather’

‘Hell Yes’

‘Broken Drum’


‘Go It Alone’

‘Farewell Ride’

‘Rental Car’

‘Emergency Exit’

The first single from the album will be ‘E-Pro’, though no release date has been set.

Beck recently debuted songs from ‘Guero’ during a surprise gig at LA’s Spaceland club, and last Monday (January 17) he joined Pearl Jam‘s Eddie Vedder, the Foo Fighters‘ Dave Grohl and [a] at the Wiltern Theatre for a concert to benefit tsunami relief efforts.

Beck said of the evening: “Jack (Black) spearheaded the show and was the sort of commander of the evening. I was working as a Second Lieutenant. Admiral Grohl, Sergeant Farrell, and Major Vedder formed a right flank while Corporal Cohen was wounded in action. All in all it was a successful campaign and funds were raised for the worthy cause.

“This show provided an opportunity for me to incorporate interpretative dancing into my solo acoustic work. Sergeant Farrell was most formidable in a standard-issue red unitard, but unfortunately crossed the line when he violated my pump organ.”