Beirut share ‘Gallipoli’ title track, announce 2019 world tour

Marking the follow-up to 2015's 'No No No'

Beirut have announced a new album, titled ‘Gallipoli’. It serves as the follow-up to 2015’s ‘No No No’ and marks Zach Condon’s fifth full-length release as Beirut.

The album takes its name from the Italian town of the same name, where Condon wrote the title track. The album was recorded in New York City, Berlin, and Puglia. You can listen to the title track below.


It’ll be released on February 1, 2019 via 4AD. Condon also announced a string of shows for 2019, including stops in Manchester, Leeds and London. Tickets go on sale at 10am local time on Friday 26 October and you can grab them here. You can see the full tour dates below.

10 February – BROOKLYN, NY, Brooklyn Steel
11 February – BROOKLYN, NY, Brooklyn Steel
12 February – BROOKLYN, NY, Music Hall of Williamsburg
14 February – WASHINGTON, DC, Anthem
15 February – PHILADELPHIA, PA, Tower
16 February – BOSTON, MA, Orpheum
18 February – MONTREAL, QC, Metropolis
19 February – TORONTO, ON, Sony Centre
21 February – MILWAUKEE, WI, Pabst Theatre
22 February – CHICAGO, IL, Riviera
23 February – MINNEAPOLIS, MN, Palace Theatre
26 February – VANCOUVER, BC, Orpheum
27 February – SEATTLE, WA, Paramount
28 February – PORTLAND, OR, Schnitzer
3 March – OAKLAND, CA, Fox
5 March – LOS ANGELES, CA, Wiltern
30 March – BERLIN, Funkhaus
31 March – BERLIN, Funkhaus
2 April – BRUSSELS, Forest National
4 April – GRONINGEN, De Oosterpoort
5 April – PARIS, Le Grand Rex
6 April – COLOGNE, Palladium
8 April – UTRECHT, TivoliVrendenburg – Ronda
10 April – MANCHESTER, Albert Hall
11 April – LEEDS, Leeds Town Hall
12 April – LONDON, Eventim Apollo
14 April – VIENNA, Gasometer
15 April – MUNICH, Zenith
18 April – MILAN, Alcatraz
19 April – ZURICH, Volkshaus

Announcing the news on their official website, Condon also described the recording process of the album. “Gallipoli started, in my mind, when I finally had my old Farfisa organ shipped to New York from my parent’s home in Santa Fe, NM,” he began.

“I acquired the organ from my first job at the CCA; the local foreign film theater and gallery space. A traveling circus’ keyboard player (not a joke) had left it in the warehouse after certain keys and functions of the organ had broken down and stopped working,” he continued. “I spent the next three years writing every song I could possibly squeeze out of it.”

Condon goes on to explain that during the writing and recording process, things in his personal life “were shifting wildly” and he found himself “traveling back and forth between New York and Berlin for longer periods of time.”


He describes the studio sessions as a “flurry of 12 to 16 hour days in the studio, with day trips around the coastline and a steady diet of pizza, pasta and tear-inducing ghost peppers we bought from the chili-man in Lecce.”

Then, he tells fans about the inspiration behind the album’s title track. “We stumbled into a medieval-fortressed island town of Gallipoli one night and followed a brass band procession fronted by priests carrying a statue of the town’s saint through the winding narrow streets behind what seemed like the entire town, before returning late to Sudestudio. The next day I wrote the song I ended up calling ‘Gallipoli’ entirely in one sitting, pausing only to eat.”

You can read the full post here. The full track listing for ‘Gallipolli’ is below.


  1. When I Die
  2. Gallipoli
  3. Varieties of Exile
  4. On Mainau Island
  5. I Giardini
  6. Gauze für Zah
  7. Corfu
  8. Landslide
  9. Family Curse
  10. Light in the Atoll
  11. We Never Lived Here
  12. Fin