But new track won't appear on their forthcoming new album...

Belle & Sebastian have announced details of a brand new single, ‘LEGAL MAN’, which is released on May 22 through Jeepster.

But the single will not be included on the band’s forthcoming album ‘Fold Your Hands Child, You Walk Like A Peasant’, released on June 5, also through Jeepster.

None of the tracks of any of the band’s previous EPs have featured on an album before. A spokeperson for the band said they were just continuing this policy, even though for once, the release was a single, and therefore chart eligible.

Sources close to the band say the track is an “infectious northern soul dance-floor anthem”, with various members of the band providing vocals. The track also features vocals from The Maisonettes, who appear to be a new group and friends of the band, rather than the UK group who had a British hit in 1982 with ‘Heartache Avenue’.

The single will be released on CD, 12″ and 7″ formats, and contains two other new tracks ‘Judy Is A Dick Slap’ and ‘Winter Wooskie’ across the three formats.

The band are currently lining up a UK tour for around the release of the album, but no dates have yet been confirmed.