Ben Folds unveils third solo album tracklisting

'Way To Normal' comes out in September

Details of the new Ben Folds album ‘Way To Normal’ have been revealed, with the disc slated to be released on September 30.

The album, which is the third from Folds as a solo artist, was recorded at his own studio in Nashville, TN and produced by Dennis Herring, who’s previously worked with the likes of Elvis Costello, The Hives and Modest Mouse.

Joining Folds on the record are bassist Jared Reynolds and drummer Sam Smith, and the first single from the album ‘You Don’t Know Me’ features vocals from Regina Spektor.


A portion of the record was written at the end of last year as Folds was finalising his divorce, and the album was almost titled ‘Blood On The Keyboard’, but Folds says the material was not inspired by the divorce:

“The songs are not topical. I was not interested in making a record about the D-word. I got all that stuff out of my system on the last record, which was deliberately stoic,” he says.

“This new album is really about me being free, which is why it feels cathartic and expressive. It’s about me coming back to being myself. I came out of the courthouse, kissed the ground, and walked straight into the studio. I felt like a bottle of champagne that had been shaken for 18 months and popped open in the studio. That’s why this record has so much energy.”

The tracklisting is:

‘Hiroshima (B B B Benny Hits His Head)’


‘Dr. Yang’

‘The Frown’

‘You Don’t Know Me’ (featuring Regina Spektor)

‘Before Cologne’


‘Errant Dog’

‘Free Coffee’

‘Bitch Went Nuts’



‘Kylie from Connecticut’

–By our New York staff.

Find out more about NME.