Best Coast, MGMT and The Kills appear on new Fleetwood Mac covers album

Lykke Li, Antony Hegarty and ZZ Top also feature on new compilation

Best Coast, MGMT and The Kills are to appear on a new Fleetwood Mac covers album.

They join a host of guest artists including Antony Hegarty from Antony And The Johnsons, ZZ Top’s Billy Gibbons and Lykke Li.

One other notable inclusion on the record, which is being produced by Randall Poster, who recently presided over the Buddy Holly tribute ‘Rave On’, is a special collaboration between Sonic Youth’s Lee Ranaldo and Dinosaur Jr.’s J. Mascis on Peter Green’s guitar instrumental ‘Albatross’, reports Direct Current.


Best Coast and The New Pornographers, have played or recorded other Fleetwood Mac songs in the past, with the former covering ‘Storms’ earlier this year. Scroll down below to hear the former’s take on the track. But both bands have selected a different song for this compilation.

The as-yet-untitled album is due for release in the US on September 14. A UK release date has yet to be announced.

The full tracklisting is as follows:

Entrance Band – ‘Green Manalishi’
Crystal Ark – ‘Tusk’
Best Coast – ‘Rhiannon’
The New Pornographers – ‘Think About Me’
MGMT – ‘Future Games’
Marianne Faithful – ‘Angel’
Antony Hegarty – ‘Landslide’
Ranaldo and Mascis – ‘Albatross’
Trixie Whitley – ‘Before The Beginning’
Washed Out – ‘Straight Back’
Super Wolf – ‘Storms’
The Kills – ‘Dreams’
Gardens And Villa – ‘Gypsy’
Billy Gibbons – ‘Oh Well’
Lykke Li – ‘Silver Springs’