Du Blonde – aka Beth Jeans Houghton – releases new album details

'Welcome Back To Milk' features guest vocals from Future Islands' Samuel T Herring

Du Blonde, aka Beth Jeans Houghton, has released details of her forthcoming album.

‘Welcome Back To Milk’ is set for release May 18, and will be followed by a June UK tour – scroll down for tour dates. The LP’s artwork is pictured above. The singer’s second album, following 2012’s ‘Yours Truly, Cellophane Nose’, will be the first released by Houghton under the Du Blonde name. It was reported earlier this year that Beth Jeans Houghton had changed her name to Du Blonde.

The album will feature guest vocals from Future Islands frontman Samuel T Herring on a song called ‘Mind Is On My Mind’. Scroll down for a full tracklisting. Speaking about the content of the record, Houghton comments: “What am I pissed off about? In no particular order: the free wheeling judgement of faceless accusers online, every man and his dog giving me advice on how to live my life, what to wear, what not to say, how to write songs. Being asked if I’m on my period in business meetings. Being told to ‘just deal with’ misogyny. It’s clear that the message for young girls, in music, business and relationships, is still ‘shut up, do what you’re told and be thankful’.”


The album’s previously released first track ‘Black Flag’, can be listened to here and is available as a free download from Du Blonde’s website. It was produced by Bad Seed and Grinderman member Jim Sclavunos, who has previously worked with The Jim Jones Revue and The Horrors. “I feel no need to ease people in” Du Blonde said of the song. “Black Flag is a good representation of the direction of the album. There are a few quieter, thoughtful tracks but the general mood is one of finally cracking. The record is a powerful release for me. It’s the result of finally sitting down and taking a look at my life, what I was angry about, what I needed to change.”

Du Blonde will play:

Brighton Green Door Store (June 3)
London 100 Club (4)
Leeds Brudenell Social Club (5)
Bristol Louisiana (6)
Nottingham Bodega (7)
Manchester Deaf Institute (9)
Glasgow Broadcast (10)
Newcastle The Cluny (11)
Thirsk Deer Shed Festival (24)

The ‘Welcome Back To Milk’ tracklisting is:

‘Black Flag’
‘Chips To Go’
‘Raw Honey’
‘After The Show’
‘If You’re Legal’
‘Hard To Please’
‘What Is It Like’
‘Mr. Hyde’
‘Four In The Morning’
‘Mind Is On My Mind’ – featuring Samuel T Herring
‘Isn’t It Wild’