Serena Williams, Diplo, Ezra Koenig and more react to Beyoncé’s ‘Lemonade’

The album features guests including Kendrick Lamar and Jack White

Musicians, actors and other entertainment personalities have reacted to the release of Beyoncé’s surprise album, ‘Lemonade’ and its accompanying film, which premiered on HBO in America last night (April 23) and is now streaming exclusively on Tidal.

The album features many collaborators, including Jack White, Vampire Weekend‘s Ezra Koenig, The Weeknd, Kendrick Lamar, Father John Misty.

According to Twitter, there were 1.8 million global tweets about the HBO special that aired last night in the eight hours between 6pm and 2am Eastern Time. By comparison, the release of Rihanna’s ‘Anti’ in January garnered 675,000 tweets in the following 24-hour period.

‘Lemonade’ includes the previously heard single ‘Formation’, debuted earlier this year, which Beyoncé also played at the Super Bowl alongside Coldplay. The album includes 11 other new tracks.

The packed guest-list on the album includes Kendrick Lamar on ‘Freedom’, James Blake on ‘Forward’, The Weeknd on ‘6 Inch’ (which samples Animal Collective’s ‘My Girls’) and Jack White on ‘Don’t Hurt Yourself’. The rock connection on the album runs deep with Father John Misty and Vampire Weeknd’s Ezra Koenig listed as writers on ‘Hold Up’, which samples Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ song ‘Maps’.

Meanwhile OutKast’s ‘SpottieOttieDopaliscious’ is sampled on ‘All Night’. Led Zeppelin song ‘When The Levee Breaks’ is sampled on Jack White-featuring sampled ‘Don’t Hurt Yourself’.

‘Lemonade’ marks Beyoncé’s fifth solo album and the follow-up to 2013’s self-titled LP, which was released in a similar surprise fashion.

Lemonade Tracklist:
‘Pray You Catch Me’
‘Hold Up’
‘Don’t Hurt Yourself’ (feat. Jack White)
‘6 Inch’ (feat. The Weeknd)
‘Daddy Lessons’
‘Love Drought’
‘Forward’ (feat. James BLake)
‘Freedom’ (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
‘All Night’