Matt Cardle’s Biffy Clyro cover stays at Number One

Take That spend sixth week on top of albums chart

X Factor winner Matt Cardle has stayed at the top of the UK singles chart tonight (December 26) with ‘When We Collide’.

The song, a retitled version of Biffy Clyro‘s ‘Many Of Horror’, held off competition from ‘What’s My Name’ by Rihanna featuring Drake, which stayed at Number Two.

Katy B featuring Ms Dynamite scored the highest new entry, debuting at Number Four with ‘Lights On’.

In the albums chart, Take That‘s ‘Progress’ spent a sixth week at Number One after selling 430,000 copies in a week – putting them close to 2 million total sales of the album, according to the Official Charts Company.

Rihanna was again at Number Two with ‘Loud’, while Michael Buble, Olly Murs, Michael Jackson, JLS and Susan Boyle all racked up big sales in the run-up to Christmas.

The Top Ten UK singles are:

1. Matt Cardle – ‘When We Collide’
2. Rihanna feat. Drake – ‘What’s My Name’
3. Black Eyed Peas – ‘The Time (Dirty Bit)’
4.Katy B feat Ms Dynamite – ‘Lights On’
5. Ellie Goulding – ‘Your Song’
6. Rihanna – ‘Only Girl (In The World)’
7. Take That – ‘The Flood’
8. Katy Perry – ‘Firework’
9. Willow – ‘Whip My Hair’
10. Far East Movement feat. Cataracs & Dev – ‘Like A G6’

The Top Ten UK albums are:

1. Take Take – ‘Progress’
2. Rihanna – ‘Loud’
3. Michael Buble – ‘Crazy Love’
4. Olly Murs – ‘Olly Murs’
5. Michael Jackson – ‘Michael’
6. JLS – ‘Outta This World’
7. Susan Boyle – ‘The Gift’
8. Bon Jovi – ‘Greatest Hits’
9. Black Eyed Peas – ‘The Beginning’
10. Kings Of Leon – ‘Come Around Sundown’