Biffy Clyro to release B-Sides album ‘Similarities’ later this year

Scottish band round up tracks from 'Opposites' sessions for new release

Biffy Clyro frontman Simon Neil has said that the band will release a B-Sides album titled ‘Similarities’ later this year.

The band, who released their latest album ‘Opposites’ in 2013, will round up a collection of tracks recorded in the sessions for the album that did not make it onto the final cut of the LP.

Biffy Clyro put out a similar release in 2010 with ‘Lonely Revolutions’, a compilation of ‘Only Revolutions’ B-Sides.

Speaking to Kerrang!, Neil discussed the new release as well as plans for the band’s next studio album. “We still have four or five songs from the album that no-one’s heard yet, so it’ll be nice to put those out. We’ll put something out called ‘Similarities’. That will have 18 songs, I think.”

On the subject of new material, Neil says Biffy Clyro have new songs but the band will not record anything until 2015. “We’ve got about four songs written on piano at the moment and we have about six or seven riffs, too. The genesis of the next album is there, I suppose. I’m not sure these new songs will make the next record or not. I think we’ll record the next album in 2015.”

Biffy Clyro will headline Isle Of Wight Festival 2014. The Scottish band, who headlined Reading & Leeds festivals in August, will perform on the Main Stage at this year’s event, on Friday, June 13. Joining the group on the bill will be Calvin Harris and Rudimental. Passenger, The 1975 and The Waterboys are all also set to perform across the weekend.

Isle Of Wight Festival takes place between June 13-15. Tickets are available until January 16 at an early bird price of £170.