The cult guitar heroes return...

BIG STAR have confirmed details of their first album in 27 years.

Original members Alex Chilton and Jody Stephens were joined in the studio by Posies frontmen Jon Auer and Ken Stringfellow, who have been part of the Big Star touring band since 1993, when they reformed for live shows.

Now the new line-up have put together an album, ’In Space’, which will be released on September 26 by Rykodisc.

The tracklisting is:


’Lady Sweet’

’Best Chance We’ve Ever Had’

’Turn My Back On The Sun’

’Love Revolution’

’February’s Quiet’

’Mine Exclusively’

’A Whole New Thing’

’Aria Largo’

’Hung Up With Summer’

’Do You Wanna Make It’


Big Star’s last release was the notoriously downbeat ‘Third/SisterLovers’ in 1978, recorded when the band was falling apart.

Frontman Chilton and drummer Stephens revived the moniker after the likes of REM and Teenage Fanclub cited them as a massive influence.