The seminal band's history is comprehensively covered on 'The Big Star Story'...

Seminal 70’s US band BIG STAR are to releasing a ‘BEST OF’ compilation next month featuring a brand new track.

‘The Big Star Story’, out September 22, includes highlights from the cult band’s albums ‘#1 Record’, ‘Radio City’ and ‘Number Three Record’/’Sister Lovers’. It also contains solo tracks from guitarist Chris Bell, who left in 1973, plus songs from the line-up that have toured since the early 90s, original members Alex Chilton and Jody Stephens being joined by The Posies’ Jonathan Auer and Ken Stringfellow.

The band still play dates, though have only written one song: ‘Hot Thing’, which gets its first official release here.

The full tracklisting is as follows:

‘September Gurls’

‘Thank You Friends’

‘Don’t Lie To Me’

‘Ballad Of El Goodo’


‘I Am The Cosmos’

‘In The Street’

‘You Get What You Deserve’


‘You & Your Sister’

‘Back Of A Car’

‘Jesus Christ’

‘Mod Lang’

‘Baby Strange’

‘O Dana’

‘Motel Blues’


‘Hot Thing’