ZZ Top’s Billy F Gibbons to release a new solo album

'The Big Bad Blues' will be released by the ZZ Top guitarist and vocalist in late September

ZZ Top’s Billy F Gibbons is to release a new solo album on September 21.

The ZZ Top guitarist and vocalist’s album, ‘The Big Bad Blues’ will feature a collection of original songs as well as covers of some classic blues covers including Muddy Waters’ ‘Rollin’ and Tumblin” and ‘Standing Around Crying.’



Formed in 1969, ZZ Top remain one of the world’s longest running rock bands that is still composed of its original members.

As well as writing and composing the album, Gibbons has co-produced his latest alongside Joe Hardy.

Speaking about the album, Gibbons said he’s loved blues “right from the beginning”, adding: “it’s never let up.”

“There’s something very primordial within the art form…nobody gets away from the infectious allure of those straight-ahead licks!”


Gibbons has also spoken more about his influences on the album:”I suspect Jimmy Reed did me in early on. The inventiveness of that high and lonesome sound remains solid and stridently strong to this day.

We could go on to mention the line-up of usual suspects, Howlin’ Wolf, Muddy, all three Kings (B.B., Albert and Freddie). The lengthy list of champions is forever carved in stone.”

The track-list of the new album is as follows: 

1)           Missin’ Yo’ Kissin’ (Gilly Stillwater)
2)           My Baby She Rocks
3)           Second Line
4)           Standing Around Crying (Muddy Waters)
5)           Let the Left Hand Know…
6)           Bring It to Jerome (Jerome Green)
7)           That’s What She Said
8)           Mo’ Slower Blues
9)           Hollywood 151
10)         Rollin’ and Tumblin’ (Muddy Waters)
11)         Crackin’ Up (Bo Diddley)

The singer will be announcing new tour dates soon.

You May Like