Bjork to release new studio album

Ten-track album features various collaborations

Bjork has announced that her new studio album ‘Volta’ will be released on May 7.

It’s the Icelandic star’s sixth studio album, and first since 2004’s ‘Medulla’.

The ten-track album was written and produced solely by Bjork.

However, as previously reported, she has acquired the help of a number of other musicians to collaborate on her latest work.

Among those enlisted are Anthony Hegarty, of Anthony and the Johnsons fame, Timbaland and Mark Bell of LFO.

There will also be reportedly more of an “international sound” to ‘Volta’, which also features a number of African artists.

One of these collaborators are Konono No. 1, who won a BBC World Music Award in 2006.

Bjork has confirmed that she will be playing a number of European festivals this summer, including Glastonbury, where she last performed in 1994.