Bjork rush releases digital version of new album ‘Vulnicura’

The LP is now available to purchase on iTunes

Björk has rush released the digital version of her new album, ‘Vulnicura’.

The follow-up to 2011’s ‘Biophilia’ is now on sale via iTunes, two months ahead of its intended release date. The CD and vinyl versions of the album will still come out in March as originally planned. The LP’s artwork is pictured above.

The Icelandic singer took to Facebook to tell fans about the making of the record earlier this evening, calling it a “heartbreak album”. She wrote: “I guess I found in my lap one year into writing it a complete heartbreak album. Kinda surprised how thoroughly I had documented this in pretty much accurate emotional chronology… Like 3 songs before a break up and three after. So the anthropologist in me sneaked in and I decided to share them as such. First I was worried it would be too self indulgent but then I felt it might make it even more universal. And hopefully the songs could be a help, a crutch to others and prove how biological this process is: the wound and the healing of the wound. Psychologically and physically. It has a stubborn clock attached to it.”


She continued, discussing her work with Arca and The Haxan Cloak on the release. “And then a magic thing happened to me: as I lost one thing something else entered. Alejandro contacted me late summer 2013 and was interested in working with me. It was perfect timing. To make beats to the songs would have taken me 3 years (like on Vespertine) but this enchanted Arca would visit me repeatedly and only few months later we had a whole album!!!” she wrote.

“It is one of the most enjoyable collaborations I have had! I then went ahead and wrote string and choir arrangements and recorded them in Iceland. Towards the end of the album I started looking around for a mixing engineer and was introduced by a mutual friend of ours, Robin Carolan to The Haxan Cloak. He mixed the album and also made a beat for one half of ‘Family’. Together with Chris Elms the engineer we kinda formed a band during the mixing process and this is the album we made!!!”

Arca – aka Alejandro Ghersi – has in the past contributed to Kanye West’s ‘Yeezus’ and collaborated with FKA Twigs. The Haxan Cloak, aka Bobby Krlic, released his own self-titled debut in 2011 and then put out a follow-up, ‘Excavation’, in 2013. He also worked with US band The Body on their 2014 release ‘I Shall Die Here’.

The ‘Vulnicura’ tracklisting is as follows:

‘History Of Touches’
‘Black Lake’
‘Atom Dance’
‘Mouth Mantra’