Black Sabbath’s first eight albums to be reissued on vinyl

The reissue series will run throughout the summer

Black Sabbath‘s early albums are set to be reissued on vinyl.

The heavy metal band’s first eight full-lengths will be re-released this summer, from their 1970 self-titled debut to 1978’s ‘Never Say Die’, the last album to feature Ozzy Osbourne until 2013’s ’13’. Each of the LPs will come on heavyweight 180g vinyl, as well as CD format.

Black Sabbath – Exclusive In The Studio Photos

The group’s debut album (1970) will kick off the reissue series on June 22, along with ‘Paranoid’ (1970) and ‘Master Of Reality’ (1971). ‘Vol. 4′(1972), ‘Sabbath Bloody Sabbath’ (1973) and ‘Sabotage’ (1975) will follow on June 29, while ‘Technical Ecstacy’ (1976) and ‘Never Say Die’ (1978) conclude the schedule on July 13.

Black Sabbath recently discussed their much touted upcoming farewell tour to NME. After cancelling an upcoming performance that had been previously billed as the group’s “farewell” gig, set to take place at the Tokyo leg of Ozzfest on November 22, Ozzy Osbourne recently said that the band will embark on a full farewell tour and release their final album in 2016.

Speaking to NME at the Ivor Novello Awards in London last Thursday (May 21), bassist Geezer Butler claimed that he had “absolutely no idea” if the rumoured tour would actually happen. Butler said: “I’d love to keep going, I’d desperately want to keep going before I kick the bucket”. Butler’s bandmate, guitarist Tony Iommi added: “It’d be lovely to do a last tour, it’d be really nice to do that”.