Black Sabbath, George Clinton & Parliament-Funkadelic and more to receive Lifetime Achievement award at the Grammys

The ceremony will take place next Spring

Black Sabbath and George Clinton & Parliament-Funkadelic are among the artists set to receive the Lifetime Achievement award at the Grammys next year.

According to a press release, the award celebrates those who have made “outstanding contributions of artistic significance to the field of recording.”

As well as Black Sabbath and George Clinton & Parliament-Funkadelic, Dionne Warwick, Donny Hathaway, Julio Iglesias, soul duo Sam & Dave and late jazz singer Billy Eckstine will also be receiving the award.


The ceremony will take place on Saturday, May 11, 2019 in Los Angeles.

As well as the Lifetime Achievement Award winners, the Grammys have also announced those who will be receiving a Trustees Award. This award recognises “such contributions in areas other than performance.”

Lou Adler, Ashford & Simpson, and Johnny Mandel are the artists receiving the coveted honour. Elsewhere, Saul Walker will also posthumously receive the Technical Grammy Award for “contributions of outstanding technical significance to the recording industry.”

Earlier this month, the full nominations for the 61st Grammys were announced.

It’s been a huge success for Cardi B, who’s battling the likes of Drake and Post Malone in the best album category, while also competing in the Record of the Year category for ‘I Like It.’


Childish Gambino could walk away with both song of the year and record of the year for ‘This Is America’. Ariana Grande has been nominated for the best pop album as well as best solo pop performance for her single ‘God Is A Woman’.

Elsewhere, Greta Van Fleet have been nominated for best rock song and best rock performance alongside the likes of St. Vincent and Twenty-One Pilots.