Bloc Party confirm new album ‘Hymns’ will be released in January

Band return with their fifth album in 2016

Bloc Party have confirmed details of new album ‘Hymns’, to be released in January 2016.

The band’s fifth album will be released through Infectious Music / BMG and can be pre-ordered now. Fans who do pre-order will receive ‘The Love Within’ instantly. A deluxe edition featuring extra songs (‘Eden, ‘Paradiso’, ‘New Blood’ and ‘Evening Song’) will also be available. The album artwork can be seen above.

NMERichard Johnson/NME

‘Hymns’ tracklist:


‘The Love Within’
‘Only He Can Heal Me’
‘So Real’
‘The Good News’
‘Different Drugs’
‘Into The Earth’
‘My True Name’
‘Living Lux’

Speaking in a statement released by the band, frontman Kele Okereke denied that the album title ‘Hymns’ was reference to any kind of religious epiphany within Bloc Party and was instead inspired by the author Hanif Kureishi. “I grew up in a religious house so I’m fully aware of the imagery, but I’m not Christian. It’s not something I subscribe to,” he said.

The band recently unveiled their new line-up at two shows in the US during August, with bassist Justin Harris and drummer Louise Bartle joining the group in the place of the recently departed Gordon Moakes and Matt Tong.

Bloc Party will now tour Europe in November and December. UK dates will take place in Manchester and London on December 3 and 4 resectively.