Bloc Party debut new line-up and play new songs live ahead of fifth album release – watch

Band perform 'Eden' and 'Exes', plus confirm they've finished recording next album

Bloc Party have unveiled their new-look line-up at two shows in the US, also taking the opportunity to confirm that they’ve finished recording their next album.

The group, who have parted ways with original members Gordon Moakes and Matt Tong, played two intimate gigs at The Glass House in Pomona on Wednesday (August 19) and The Roxy in Los Angeles on Thursday (August 20).

The Pomona show marked the first outing for new bassist Justin Harris and drummer Louise Bartle. Frontman Kele Okereke told the crowd: “It’s quite a weird and emotional feeling for us because it’s our first performance [together].”

Okereke also confirmed that they’ve finished the work for the next LP, what will be the group’s fifth record. “We just finished recording our new album and we’re going to play new songs from it,” he said.

Bloc Party played new songs – thought to be called ‘Eden’ and ‘Exes’ respectively’ – at the gigs. Watch footage of the performances at the Pomona gig below.

A photo posted by Bloc Party (@thisisblocparty) on

Bloc Party play Los Angeles’ FYF Fest on Saturday (August 22).

Bloc Party played the following setlist at the intimate gigs:

‘Hunting For Witches’
‘Positive Tension’
‘Real Talk’
‘Waiting For The 7.18’
‘Song For Clay’
‘One More Chance’
‘Trojan Horse’
‘So He Begins To Lie’
‘This Modern Love’