Stream Bloc Party’s new album ‘Hymns’ online

Fifth album will be released this week

Bloc Party are streaming their new album online ahead of its official release this week. Scroll below to listen.

The band’s fifth album ‘Hymns’ will be released on Friday (January 29). It follows on from 2012’s ‘Four’ and is the group’s first release with its new-look line-up.

Bass player Gordon Moakes and drummer Matt Tong left the band in 2013, with bassist Justin Harris and drummer Louise Bartle joining the group in their place.

The band recently spoke to NME about the line-up changes. Frontman Kele Okereke said: “People think bands breaking up is sexy but often it’s super mundane, like not flushing the toilet or washing up. It’s often not about the flashpoints but deep-seated issues.”

Okereke also said he is wary of sounding like a tyrant, but insists the old incarnation of Bloc Party had reached an impasse: “It was [change] or stop. I love what I do, so they had to go.”

He conceded that the new line-up might initially feel wrong for “people who have known us to be a certain way for a long time… but those fans don’t own Bloc Party. I’ve always been adamant I know what’s good for the survival of the band.”

The full ‘Hymns’ tracklisting is as follows:

‘The Love Within’
‘Only He Can Heal Me’
‘So Real’
‘The Good News’
‘Different Drugs’
‘Into The Earth’
‘My True Name’
‘Living Lux’

Bloc Party will head out on the road along with Drenge, Ratboy and Bugzy Malone in January as part of the NME Awards Tour 2016 with Austin, Texas.

The annual tour will begin in Cardiff on January 29, stopping off in Southampton, Bristol, Nottingham, Newcastle, Glasgow, Manchester, Leeds, Cambridge and London before a final gig on February 12 at Birmingham’s O2 Academy. Get your tickets now.