Bloc Party to release new material this summer

Russell Lissack reveals band have recorded 6 new songs and could release EP

Bloc Party are back in the studio and working on new music, it has been confirmed.

Guitarist Russell Lissack spoke to Miami New Times this week and revealed that the band recently recorded six new songs, including a track called ‘Children Of The Future’. Revealing that an EP of new material could be out as soon as next month, Lissack said: “We still need to do the vocals, but we’ve been working on six new songs. Depending on how the finished things pan out, we’re either going to put out a single or an EP. I think in June or July. That’s one of the songs that could potentially be on it.”

Lissack went on to add: “I think all six songs are very different. I think all the records we’ve made have been quite eclectic, and this EP is no different. I’m not sure ultimately what songs will be released, but there’s quite a variety of songs and sounds coming up.”

Revealing electronic music as an influence on the “eclectic” new songs Bloc Party have recorded, Lissack also said: “I was listening to a lot more electronic music the last few months, stuff like Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs and Deadmau5. Then the last few weeks, I’ve really made an effort to listen to some guitar music again. I was finding it really difficult to get inspired by guitar music recently. I listened to the album by Everything Everything and Foals, and they were both really good.”

Foals and Bloc Party and Kraftwerk have been announced as this year’s Latitude Festival headliners.

The three bash-topping bands were announced earlier today. The festival will take place July 19-21 at Henham Park in Southwold, Suffolk. Bloc Party will headline the Obelisk Main Stage on the Friday, supporting the release of their fourth album ‘4’. For more information, visit:

To check the availability of Latitude tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/TICKETS now, or call 0871 230 1094.