Bloc Party’s Kele Okereke announces solo album details

'The Boxer' set for release in June

Bloc Party‘s Kele Okereke has revealed details of his forthcoming debut solo album.

The frontman, who records and performs solo under the name Kele, has named the album ‘The Boxer’ and will release it on June 21. A single, ‘Tenderoni’, is out on June 14.

The album was produced mainly in New York with producer XXXchange. Kele told NME.COM that the record sees him embracing his interest in dance music.

“I’ve been into clubbing for years,” he explained. “I’ve said from the beginning I’m into dance, it gets me excited and I think this record is going to go some way to prove that to people, hopefully.”

For the full interview with Kele see the new issue of NME, out tomorrow.

The tracklisting of ‘The Boxer’ is:

‘Walk Tall’
‘On The Lam’
‘The Other Side’
‘Everything You Wanted’
‘New Rules’
‘Unholy Thoughts’
‘All The Things I Could Never Say’
‘Yesterday’s Gone’

Bloc Party are currently on haitus.