Blur’s Damon Albarn unveils trailer for ‘Dr Dee’ studio album – watch

The studio album version of Albarn's opera is released on May 7

Blur and Gorillaz mainman Damon Albarn has unveiled a trailer for the studio album of material composed for his Dr Dee opera.

The album, which is also titled ‘Dr Dee’, will be released on May 7. It contains a total of 18 tracks and was recorded late last year at Albarn’s west London studio with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra.

The trailer features Albarn discussing the album’s recording and singing extracts from the record’s second track ‘Apple Carts’.

Blur announced last month that they will return to Hyde Park, the scene of three of their reunion shows of 2009, for a gig which will also feature The Specials and New Order. The show will take place on August 12 to mark the end of the 2012 Olympics.

Along with playing at Hyde Park, Blur are also scheduled to headline Sweden’s Way Out West festival in August.

To watch an exclusive NME video interview with Albarn’s bandmate Graham Coxon, where he speaks about the band’s preparations for their huge Hyde Park gig, scroll down and click below.

The tracklisting of ‘Dr Dee’ is as follows:

‘The Golden Dawn
‘Apple Carts’
‘Oh Spirit Animate Us’
‘The Moon Exalted’
‘A Man of England’
‘The Marvelous Dream’
‘A Prayer’
‘Edward Kelley’
‘9 Point Star’
‘Temptation Comes In The Afternoon’
‘Watching the Fire That Waltzed Away’
‘Moon (Interlude)’
‘Tree Of Life’
‘The Dancing King’