Bob Dylan, Animal Collective, Kings Of Leon make Uncut Music Award shortlist

Wilco, Dirty Projectors and Grizzly Bear also make final eight

Bob Dylan, Animal Collective, Kings Of Leon, Wilco, Dirty Projectors and Grizzly Bear have made the shortlist for the Uncut Music Award 2010.

The Low Anthem and Tinariwen have also made the final list of eight acts in consideration for the award, in its second year running this year.

The award will go to the artists who have made the best album released in the past year in the eye of the judging panel.

Judging the award will be Uncut editor, Allan Jones, Robin Pecknold from last year’s winners Fleet Foxes, Billy Bragg, folk singer Rachel Unthank, radio DJ Christian O’Connell, BBC creative head of music entertainment Mark Cooper, Stiff Records founder Dave Robinson plus broadcasters Mark Radcliffe, Bob Harris and Danny Kelly.

The short list is:

Animal Collective – ‘Merriweather Post Pavilion’
Bob Dylan – ‘Together Through Life’
Dirty Projectors – ‘Bitte Orca’
Grizzly Bear – ‘Veckatimest’
Kings of Leon – ‘Only By The Night’
The Low Anthem – ‘Oh My God Charlie Darwin’
Tinariwen – ‘Imidiwan: Companions’
Wilco – ‘Wilco (The Album)’

The winner will be announced in the January issue of Uncut, out November 24.

Jones said: “If there’s one thing at this stage that I think the judges can agree on it’s that 2009 was another brilliant year for music, which of course just makes our job that much harder.

“It was difficult enough to pick eight albums from our original longlist of 25, and the task now of choosing a winner and runners-up from our shortlist is going to be even more daunting.

“Every one of these albums would make a worthy winner of this year’s Uncut Music Award and I am sure the final judging session will be full of passionate debate as the judges put forward their cases for their favourite albums. It promises to be an exciting afternoon and I look forward to hearing the views of the other judges on these exceptional records.”

For more information head to