Marcus Mumford, Elvis Costello and Jim James reveal lost Bob Dylan track ‘Spanish Mary’ – listen

The song was originally written by Dylan in 1967

Marcus Mumford of Mumford and Sons, Elvis Costello and Jim James of My Morning Jacket all feature on a new song lifted from the forthcoming ‘lost’ Bob Dylan lyrics LP, ‘Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes’.

The album in question is set for release in November, also features Rhiannon Giddens of Carolina Chocolate Drops and Taylor Goldsmith of Dawes, and is produced by T Bone Burnett. The new number is called ‘Spanish Mary’ – written by Dylan in 1967 – and can be heard in the lyric video beneath.

“Out of all the lyrics I looked through for the New Basement Tapes project, the one for ‘Spanish Mary’ attracted me first – here was a ballad, and I know ballads!” Giddens says in the press release.

“It’s also set in the Caribbean, so I felt the deep African sound of the minstrel style banjo (circa 1856) was appropriate. It was an absolute thrill to get to set music to Dylan’s lyrics, what an opportunity! This project is marked with utter generosity from everyone involved.”

The record will be accompanied by a documentary called Lost Songs: The Basement Tapes Continued, directed by Sam Jones. The lyrics come from Dylan’s 1967 ‘Basement Tapes’ sessions.