Marcus Mumford, Elvis Costello, Jim James feature on first song from ‘lost’ Bob Dylan lyrics LP

'Nothing To It' is streaming now

Marcus Mumford of Mumford & Sons, Elvis Costello and Jim James of My Morning Jacket all feature on the first song to be taken from the forthcoming ‘lost’ Bob Dylan lyrics LP, ‘Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes’.

Click below to listen to ‘Nothing To It’, which features lyrics written by Dylan when he was 26. The album is set for release in November – scroll down for a full tracklisting. ‘Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes’ also features Rhiannon Giddens of Carolina Chocolate Drops and Taylor Goldsmith of Dawes, and was produced by T Bone Burnett. It will be accompanied by a documentary called Lost Songs: The Basement Tapes Continued, directed by Sam Jones. The lyrics come from Dylan’s 1967 ‘Basement Tapes’ sessions.

Johnny Depp plays guitar on one song on the record, ‘Kansas City’, filling in for Costello. Depp had gone down to watch the rehearsals at Los Angeles’ Capitol Studios, visiting his friend Burnett, but ended up contributing to the LP.

Speaking about the new sessions, Burnett previously commented: “Great music is best created when a community of artists gets together for the common good. There is a deep well of generosity and support in the room at all times, and that reflects the tremendous generosity shown by Bob in sharing these lyrics with us.”

The ‘Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes’ tracklisting is:

‘Down On The Bottom’
‘Married To My Hack’
‘Kansas City’
‘Spanish Mary’
‘Liberty Street’
‘Nothing To It’
‘Golden Tom – Silver Judas’
‘When I Get My Hands On You’
‘Duncan And Jimmy’
‘Florida Key’
‘Hidee Hidee Ho #11’
‘Lost On The River #12’
‘Card Shark’
‘Quick Like A Flash’
‘Hidee Hidee Ho #16’
‘Diamond Ring’
‘The Whistle Is Blowing’
‘Six Months In Kansas City (Liberty Street)’
‘Lost On The River #20’