Bon Jovi cover The Rolling Stones at Isle of Wight closing set

Blondie, The Script and The Boomtown Rats are among those to play the last night of the festival

Bon Jovi headlined the final day of this year’s Isle of Wight festival last night (June 16), playing a mammoth two-hour set.

Coming on half hour late and backed by a screen showing various projections and images, the American band kicked off with ‘That’s What The Water Made Me’ before playing classics such as ‘It’s My Life’, ‘Keep The Faith’ and ‘You Give Love A Bad Name’. The band also found time to play a number of covers including The Rolling Stones’ ‘Start Me Up’ and Status Quo’s ‘Rockin’ All Over The World’.

Jon Bon Jovi, who was sporting an American flag-patterned leather jacket, was in high spirits and engaging in lots of on stage chat throughout, telling the crowd that the Isle of Wight reminded him of the Jersey Shore and asking for “someone to take [him] to the sea”. Drawing things to a close with an encore of ‘Wanted Dead or Alive’ and ‘Have A Nice Day’, Bon Jovi then finished with a huge singalong of ‘Livin’ On A Prayer’ before exiting.

Earlier in the day, meanwhile, the main stage featured sets from The Script (joined by The Voice judge Danny O’Donohue), Paloma Faith and The Boomtown Rats – who played together with Bob Geldof for the first time in 27 years.

On the Big Top stage, Las Vegas newcomers Imagine Dragons proved one of the biggest hits of the day, packing their tent out for their mid-afternoon slot and finishing with chart smash ‘Radioactive’. I Am Kloot, Kodaline and Young Guns also played the tent in the evening, with Blondie closing proceedings.

Earlier in the weekend, the likes of The Killers, The Stone Roses, The Maccabees and Bloc Party also performed, whilst Tim Burgess’ Tim Peaks tent ran throughout the entire event.

Bon Jovi played:

‘That’s What The Water Made Me’
‘You Give Love a Bad Name’
‘Raise Your Hands’
‘Born To Be My Baby’
‘Lost Highway’
‘It’s My Life’
‘Because We Can’
‘What About Now’
‘We Got It Going On’
‘Keep The Faith’
‘In These Arms’
‘Someday I’ll Be Saturday Night’
‘Captain Crash & The Beauty Queen from Mars’
‘We Weren’t Born To Follow’
‘Who Says You Can’t Go Home’
‘Rockin’ All Over The World’
‘I’ll Sleep When I’m Dead’
‘Start Me Up’
‘Bad Medicine’
‘Wanted Dead or Alive’
‘Have A Nice Day’
‘Livin’ On A Prayer’