Will Oldham, Devendra Banhart cover Spice Girls, Mariah

Indie heroes appear on pop covers compilation

Devendra Banhart, Will Oldham and Jim O’Rourke are among the artists confirmed to appear on a compilation of pop covers.

‘Guilt By Association’ features covers of Mariah Carey‘s ‘Can’t Take That Away’ by Will Oldham, Take That’s ‘Back For Good’ by The Concretes and Destiny’s Child’s ‘Say My Name’ by Superchunk.

Covers of tracks from Oasis, Journey, Cher and Shania Twain are also covered from a range of indie artists including New Yorkers The Mooney Suzuki.


The full tracklisting is:

Petra Haden: ‘Don’t Stop Believin’’ (Journey)

Devendra Banhart: ‘Don’t Look Back In Anger’ (Oasis)

Mark Mulcahy: ‘From This Moment On’ (Shania Twain)

Luna: ‘Straight Up’ (Paula Abdul)

The Concretes: ‘Back For Good’ (Take That)


Jim O’Rourke: ‘Viva Forever’ Spice Girls)

Goat: ‘Sugar We’re Going Down’ (Fall Out Boy)

Will Oldham/ Bonnie Prince Billy ‘Can’t Take That Away’ (Mariah Carey)

Woody Jackson Orchestra featuring Money Mark: Love’s Theme (Love Unlimited Orchestra)

Porter Block: ‘Breaking Free’ (High School Musical)

Mooney Suzuki: ‘Just Like Jesse James’ (Cher)

Geoff Farina: ‘Two Tickets To Paradise’ (Eddie Money)

Casey Shea: ‘Chop Suey’ (System of a Down)

Superchunk: ‘Say My Name’ (Destiny’s Child)

Mike Watt: ‘Burning For You’ (Blue Oyster Cult

‘Guilt By Association’ will be released August 28.

–By our New York staff.

Find out more about NME.