Brian Eno shares 21-minute-long new song ‘The Ship’

The producer has released the title track of his new album

Brian Eno has shared a new song from his forthcoming album, ‘The Ship’.

The producer has made the 21-minute-long title track available to stream ahead of the album’s release next month.

Eno explained in a press release: “The piece started as an Ambient work intended for a multi channel sound installation in Stockholm, but during the making of it I discovered that I could now sing a low C – which happens to be the root note of the piece.

“Getting older does have a few fringe benefits after all. From that point the work turned into an unusual kind of song…a type I’ve never made before where the vocal floats free, untethered to a rhythmic grid of any kind.”

‘The Ship’, announced last month, will be Eno’s first album since 2012’s ‘Lux’. It features a cover of the Velvet Underground’s ‘I’m Set Free’, which the producer described in a press as “even more relevant now than it [was] then”.

The album will be released on Warp on April 29. It will be accompanied by a series of installations where listeners will be able to hear an “alternative telling of The Ship in multi-channel 3-dimensional sound installations”.

The Ship Tracklist:
01. The Ship
02. Fickle Sun (i) Fickle Sun (ii) The Hour Is Thin (iii) I’m Set Free