Bright Eyes, My Morning Jacket and M Ward launch Monsters Of Folk

Quartet announce new collaboration

Conor Oberst has launched a new band with Bright Eyes cohort Mike Mogis, My Morning Jacket‘s Jim James and M Ward.

The new band are called Monsters Of Folk, and they release their self-titled debut album on September 22.

The collaboration grew out of a series of shows the quartet played in 2004, and they recorded their debut album in Malibu and Omaha earlier this year.


All four band members swap instruments and share vocals on the album which features the following tracklisting:

‘Dear God (sincerely M.O.F.)’
‘Say Please’
‘Whole Lotta Losin’
‘The Right Place’
‘Baby Boomer’
‘Man Named Truth’
‘Ahead Of The Curve’
‘Slow Down Jo’
‘Losin Yo Head’
‘Magic Marker’
‘Map Of The World’
‘The Sandman, The Brakeman And Me’
‘His Master’s Voice’