British Sea Power play chaotic London show

Flags, bears and stagediving mark band’s return to the capital

British Sea Power played a mesmerising set in front of a sold-out crowd at London‘s KOKO as they continued their UK tour on last night (January 31).

The Brighton four-piece took to the stage after an impressive support slot from These New Puritans to the strains of new album opener ‘All In It’.

Having covered the stage with plants and various flags, including the Polish and Czech national flags, as well as a huge video screen, the band kicked off their set bathed in dramatic light and smoke before storming through ‘Lights Out For Darker Skies’ and ‘Atom’ to loud cheers.

All the tracks from new album ‘Do You Like Rock Music?’ were greeted with wild applause, with recent single ‘Waving Flags’ getting the biggest response of the night.

Chants of “Easy, Easy”, in reference to ‘No Lucifer’‘s refrain, could be heard throughout the venue and the band duly obliged as they finished their set with the track before returning to deliver epic versions of ‘True Adventures’ and ‘Carrion’ and regular set closer ‘Rock In A’ during the encore.

During ‘No Lucifer’ the band were joined on stage by a topless man draped in the Polish flag who wore a crash helmet and a wrestling-style belt, who proceeded to punch the air throughout the song.

The “visitor” made a second appearance as the gig finished amidst a climax of wailing guitars, crashing cymbals and drums.

Another “guest” appeared wearing the Finland flag during the song, while the band’s 10ft bear suit was revived for the climax, with it stomping about the stage as the band trashed their surroundings.

With chaos reigning onstage, guitarist Martin Noble stole the show, climbing onto the nearby balcony then ended the gig by stagediving into the crowd.

British Sea Power played:

‘Lights Out For Darker Skies’


‘Fear Of Drowning’

‘Remember Me’

‘Canvey Island’

‘Down On The Ground’

‘Leaving Here’


‘Waving Flags’

‘The Great Skua’

‘Please Stand Up’

‘Favours In The Beetroot Fields’

‘The Spirit of St Louis’

‘A Trip Out’

‘No Lucifer’

‘True Adventures’


‘Rock In A’