Bruce Springsteen announces new album details

‘We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions’ is out next month

Bruce Springsteen has announced that he will release a brand new album on April 24.

‘We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions’ is the singer’s 21st LP, and features his personal interpretations of 13 traditional songs associated with folk legend Pete Seeger.

Speaking about the origins of the music, Springsteen said: “So much of my writing, particularly when I write acoustically, comes straight out of the folk tradition. Making this album was creatively liberating because I have a love of all those different roots sounds… they can conjure up a world with just a few notes and a few words.”

The album will also include a DVD which contains extensive behind the scenes footage of the recording of the album. In addition, the package will contain two bonus tracks and a special booklet including a note from Springsteen.

Accompanying the release of ‘We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions’, Springsteen is set to embark on a short tour of the US and Europe, with details to be announced shortly.

The album tracklisting runs:

‘Old Dan Tucker’

‘Jessie James’

‘Mrs McGrath’

‘Oh, Mary, Don’t You Weep’

‘John Henry’

‘Erie Canal’

‘Jacob’s Ladder’

‘My Oklahoma Home’

‘Eyes On The Prize’


‘Pay Me My Money Down’

‘We Shall Overcome’

‘Froggie Went A-Courtin’

‘Buffalo Gals’

‘How Can I Keep From Singing’