Bruce Springsteen to release new box set of remastered albums

'The Album Collection, Vol. 2, 1987 - 1996' will hit shelves in May and is set to include his 1993 'MTV Plugged' live special

Bruce Springsteen is set to release a new albums box set in May.

The Album Collection, Vol. 2, 1987 – 1996 will feature five remastered albums from that era, starting with 1987’s ‘Tunnel Of Love’.

‘Human Touch’, ‘Lucky Town’ (both released in 1992) and ‘The Ghost of Tom Joad’ (1995) will also be part of the box set, along with the 1993 live album ‘In Concert/MTV Plugged‘.

The box set will also feature a special 12-inch version of Springsteen’s 1988 EP ‘Chimes of Freedom’ and the first-ever vinyl release of his March 1996 EP ‘Blood Brothers’.

Each record in the new collection has been remastered, with the process having been handled by the artist’s long-term engineer Bob Ludwig. ‘Tunnel of Love’ and ‘Human Touch’ will come as double-LPs to further enhance their audio quality.

The box set will also contain a 60-page booklet, Springsteen memorabilia and newspaper clippings from the era in question.

The Album Collection, Vol. 2, 1987 – 1996 will be released on May 18 – you can pre-order the box set from tomorrow (March 30) here.

Back in November, Springsteen’s ‘I’m On Fire’ was covered by Lorde during a show in her home country of New Zealand.

“This is a song I love a lot,” she told the crowd in explanation. “It’s a special one.”