Julian Casablancas, Florence Welch and Patti Smith for Buddy Holly tribute album

Paul McCartney and My Morning Jacket also get involved with the new release

Julian Casablancas, Florence Welch and Patti Smith are amongst the stars contributing to a brand new Buddy Holly tribute album, set for release this summer.

The 19 track compilation ‘Rave On Buddy Holly’ will also see The Black Keys, She And Him, Karen Elson and Cee Lo Green reinterpreting some of Holly’s classic tracks.

The album will be released in the US on June 28 through Fantasy Records/Concord Music Group.


Buddy Holly died at the age of 22 in a 1959 plane crash.

The ‘Rave On Buddy Holly’ tracklisting is:

‘Dearest’ – The Black Keys
‘Every Day’ – Fiona Apple & Jon Brion
‘It’s So Easy’ – Paul McCartney
‘Not Fade Away’ – Florence + The Machine
‘(You’re So Square) Baby, I Don’t Care’ – Cee Lo Green
‘Crying, Waiting, Hoping’ – Karen Elson
‘Rave On’ – Julian Casablancas
‘I’m Gonna Love You Too’ – Jenny O.
‘Maybe Baby’ – Justin Townes Earle
‘Oh Boy’ – She & Him
‘Changing All Those Changes’ – Nick Lowe
‘Words Of Love’ – Patti Smith
‘True Love Ways’ – My Morning Jacket
‘That’ll Be The Day’ – Modest Mouse
‘Well… All Right’ – Kid Rock
‘Heartbeat’ – The Detroit Cobras
‘Peggy Sue’ – Lou Reed
‘Peggy Sue Got Married’ – John Doe
‘Raining In My Heart’ – Graham Nash