Busted announce album plans as they land new record deal

New label boss says the band have 'managed to combine the classic Busted sound with a modern twist'

Busted have confirmed they will release an album of new material later this year.

The reunited trio – Charlie Simpson, Matt Willis and James Bourne – have signed to East West Records, a division of major label Warner Music Group.

“We wrote some awesome songs together and now Busted are back! The three of us went into the studio with no preconceptions, and were so elated with the results that we wanted to start a new chapter of our band! We are having an incredible time on our arena tour, and are now looking forward to releasing new music through a global partnership with East West,” Matt Willis said in a statement.


Busted are currently on their ‘Pigs Can Fly’ reunion tour and will take to the stage at the Motorpoint Arena in Cardiff tonight (June 2). They recently released their first single in 12 years, a synthpop-flavoured track called ‘Coming Home’.

The UK president of East West Records, Dan Chalmers, said the band have “managed to combine the classic Busted sound with a modern twist” on their new album.

“We’re really happy to be working with Charlie, Matt and James as well as their management team and we’re dedicated to delivering a massive new record,” he added.

During their original run Busted released two albums: 2002’s ‘Busted’ and 2003’s ‘A Present For Everyone’.