Cancer Bats reveal full details of new album ‘Dead Set On Living’

Band also join the line-up for Nottingham's Hit The Deck Festival

Cancer Bats have confirmed full details of their fourth studio album ‘Dead Set On Living’.

The Canadian hardcore band have recorded the album with producers Eric Ratz and Kenny Luong and will release the LP on April 16. It features a total of 11 tracks, including the album’s lead-off single ‘Old Blood’.

Describing the album, the band’s frontman Liam Cormier has said that the album will feature a mixture of Cancer Bats’ classic hardcore stylings and some more “groove-based tunes”, more in the manner of Queens Of The Stone Age.


Speaking about ‘Dead Set On Living’, Cormier said: “We really strived for that raw, off-the-floor vibe this time around. It’s really the bridge between our live show and what we put on record. I love that we can have thrash songs, hardcore songs, and the more Queens of the Stone Age or Kyuss kind of groove-based tunes.”

The tracklisting for ‘Dead Set On Living’ is as follows:

‘Bricks and Mortar’
‘Road Sick’
‘Breathe Armageddon’
‘Dead Set On Living’
‘The Void’
‘Old Blood’
‘Drunken Physics’
‘Rally The Wicked’
‘New World Alliance’

Cancer Bats have also been added to the line-up for this year’s Hit The Deck Festival.

The band join a line-up which includes Deaf Havana, Rolo Tomassi, The Wonder Years, We Are The In Crowd, The Swellers and headliners Kid In Glass Houses.

Cancer Bats will play two sets at the festival, one as themselves and the other as their Black Sabbath cover band alter ego Bat Sabbath.


Hit The Deck Festival takes place in Nottingham on April 22 with the city’s Rock City, Rescue Rooms, The Forum and Stealth venues in use throughout the day.

See for more information.

To check the availability of Hit The Deck Festival tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/TICKETS now, or call 0871 230 1094.