Carl Barât & The Jackals stream debut album ‘Let It Reign’ – listen

The Libertines musician will release his new album next week (February 16)

Carl Barat‘s new album with his band The Jackals is now streaming online.

Carl Barât & The Jackals‘ debut LP, ‘Let It Reign’ will be released next week (February 16) on Cooking Vinyl. Recorded in LA and London, it was produced by Joby J Ford of The Bronx.

Listen to ‘Let It Reign’ now below.


Barât recently claimed there is a ghost on the record and that early versions of the track ‘We Want More’ featured a piano despite being recorded without one.

In an interview with Loaded magazine, the Libertines man said: “I eventually played piano on it. But before that was added, the engineer pointed out there was a piano playing on the song when there wasn’t one in the room. I’m hoping the ghost of Liberace will turn up again when we play it live.”

Barât also divulged that he decided to form The Jackals because he felt uncomfortable making a new solo album and being “apologetic” about his music. “The idea of going around the world with another solo album just seemed so apologetic. Being solo is going, ‘Guys, please listen to this!’ and I’d rather have a band where I can just smash it,” he said.

Earlier this month, The Jackals announced a one-off London gig. The band will play a show at the Scala in London on April 15, following a series of European and US dates, including shows at South By Southwest in Austin, Texas, in March.

Barât has also been working on new music with The Libertines and has announced that he wants Noel Gallagher to produce the next Libertines’ album, stating, “I’d love to work with him”.


In the new issue of NME, which is on newsstands now and available digitally, Barât explains why he wants the Mancunian to work on the record – which he says will probably be recorded in April. “I’m going to email Noel Gallagher. I know he’s really busy, but hopefully he’s got a bit of time for the Libertines who love him so,” he said.

The ‘Let It Reign’ tracklisting is as follows:

‘Glory Days’
‘Victory Gin’
‘Summer In The Trenches’
‘A Storm Is Coming’
‘Beginning To See’
‘March Of The Idle’
‘We Want More’
‘War Of The Roses’
‘The Gears’
‘Let It Rain’
‘The King Is Me’ (iTunes Bonus Track)