Carl Barât claims there is ‘a piano-playing ghost’ on new Jackals album

New Carl Barat & The Jackals record will be released on February 16

Carl Barât has claimed there is a ghost on his forthcoming new album with band The Jackals.

Barat said early versions of track ‘We Want More’ featured a piano despite being recorded without one. In an interview with Loaded magazine, the Libertines man said: “I eventually played piano on it. But before that was added, the engineer pointed out there was a piano playing on the song when there wasn’t one in the room. I’m hoping the ghost of Liberace will turn up again when we play it live.”

Barat also divulged that he decided to form The Jackals because he felt uncomfortable making a new solo album and being “apologetic” about his music. “The idea of going around the world with another solo album just seemed so apologetic. Being solo is going, ‘Guys, please listen to this!’ and I’d rather have a band where I can just smash it,” he said.


He added that he stopped playing guitar on his solo album because he associated it too much with his bands The Libertines and Dirty Pretty Things. He revealed: “The guitar represented the implosion of The Libertines and Dirty Pretty Things and general misery. But writing songs without it felt like trying to sing underwater, and I eventually thought, ‘Why don’t I just get out of the water?’ I’m so exuberant
about guitars again.”

Earlier this month, The Jackals announced a one-off London gig. The band will play a show at the Scala in London on April 15, following a series of European and US dates, including shows at South By Southwest in Austin, Texas, in March.

Carl Barat & The Jackals’ debut LP, ‘Let It Reign’, will be released on February 16 on Cooking Vinyl. Recorded in LA and London, it was produced by Joby J Ford of The Bronx.

The ‘Let It Reign’ tracklisting is as follows:

‘Glory Days’
‘Victory Gin’
‘Summer In The Trenches’
‘A Storm Is Coming’
‘Beginning To See’
‘March Of The Idle’
‘We Want More’
‘War Of The Roses’
‘The Gears’
‘Let It Rain’
‘The King Is Me’ (iTunes Bonus Track)