Carl Barat: ‘Playing two gigs on New Year’s Eve will give The Jackals instant memories’

Libertines frontman believes his new band’s two hogmany shows will be a bonding experience

The Libertines singer Carl Barat has said that playing two shows on New Year’s Eve will be a bonding experience for his new band Carl Barat & The Jackals.

The band play gigs tomorrow at London pub venues The Amersham Arms before midnight and The Macbeth after midnight for club night This Feeling. Support comes from Dexters, magician The Magic Mod and a DJ set by The Horrors singer Faris Badwan at both venues, plus Trampolene at The Macbeth and Savage Nomads at The Amersham Arms.

Barat told NME: “I’m doing the shows because you’ve got to work and feed the monkey, haven’t you? Doing two shows on New Year’s Eve is a fast track to making memories – there will definitely be a few memories from a night like that. I enjoy playing with The Jackals so much, and our mission is to absolutely have it for those two shows. It’ll put us through our paces, and I wanted us to have that experience together.”

Carl Barat & The Jackals release their debut album ’Let It Reign’ on February 16. Produced by Joby Ford of The Bronx, guests include former My Chemical Romance drummer Bob Bryar and session bassist Ray Suen, who has played with The Killers, The Flaming Lips and Childish Gambino.

Barat revealed that the album’s bonus track, ‘The King Is Me’, features Mystery Jets singer Blaine Harrison and former Tribes frontman Johnny Lloyd. Barat said: “Johnny and Blaine popped in the studio one day, so I got Johnny to play guitar and Blaine to do a theremin solo. It’s a good track, but it’s not the missing link.”

‘Let It Reign’ comes as Barat prepares to begin recording a new album with The Libertines, after signing a record deal with Virgin EMI on December 5 in Thailand, where Pete Doherty is in rehab. Barat said at the signing ceremony: “After everything we’ve been through, The Albion sails on course again. I couldn’t be more excited.” The album will be The Libertines’ first since their self-titled second album was released in 2004 and follows a successful reunion tour in September.

’Let It Reign’ tracklisting:
‘Glory Days’
‘Victory Gin’
‘Summer In The Trenches’
‘A Storm Is Coming’
‘Beginning To See’
‘March Of The Idle’
‘We Want More’
‘War Of The Roses’
‘The Gears’
‘Let It Rain’
‘The King Is Me’ (iTunes-only bonus track)