Cat Power gives away ‘Sun’ track ‘Cherokee’

The singer songwriter's ninth album is set for release on September 10

Cat Power is giving away the track ‘Cherokee’ from her forthcoming new album, ‘Sun’.

You can download the album’s opening song for free – as well as a remix by Nicolas Jaar – by visiting

‘Sun’ follows the singer-songwriter’s 2008 covers album ‘Jukebox’ and 2006’s ‘The Greatest’ and will be out in the UK on September 10. You can watch a video for the track ‘Ruin’ below.


The tracklisting for ‘Sun’ is as follows:

‘Always On My Own’
‘Real Life’
‘Human Being’
‘Silent Machine’
‘Nothin But Time’
‘Peace And Love’

The LP was recorded by Cat Power, real name Chan Marshall, in various locations including a studio she built in Malibu. Speaking about the record, she told The Stool Pigeon that the four-year break between her last release ‘Jukebox’ was due to entering into an intense personal relationship. She said: “I entered a long relationship which I really wanted to be successful. You know that thing we’re all raised to want: a beautiful life with children – that family thing that is tangible?”

She added that the breakdown of the romance meant she could finally get the record out: “I was trying to grow my personal life in a way that I never did before. So now that relationship is over and it’s come full circle… There’s a great loss personally in my life right now, but there’s also a gift in that I’m lucky I finished this album.”